The state of Massachusetts has just rolled out new laws controlling the sale of tobacco. Among a few minor adjustments, the new laws introduce one major change. Specifically, you now have to be at least 21 years old to purchase tobacco products in the state.
Massachusetts’ New Tobacco Laws
The new laws officially went into effect on New Year’s Eve. And with the new year here, rules for tobacco in the state have now been fundamentally altered.
The biggest and most obvious change is the age at which a person can legally purchase tobacco and tobacco products. Now, the only people who can buy tobacco are adults 21 years and older.
Additionally, the state has reportedly implemented a few other changes related to tobacco. These include the following:
Pharmacies in the state are no longer allowed to sell tobacco products. E-cigarettes are now officially banned in all locations where there are already bans on other forms of smoking. It is now illegal to use tobacco, tobacco products, or e-cigarettes on the grounds of any public or private school. This includes elementary, secondary, and vocational schools throughout Massachusetts.
The rollout of these new laws marks the final step in a longer