Medical marijuana in Oregon: Counties with dispensary moratoriums – The Oregonian

Nine Oregon counties — in addition to more than 70 cities — have imposed moratoriums on medical marijuana dispensaries, according to the Association of Oregon Counties.

The counties with moratoriums include: Columbia, Deschutes, Douglas, Jackson, Lincoln, Malheur, Umatilla, Wheeler and Yamhill.

One county — Marion — has crafted regulations for dispensaries. Another 19 haven’t taken action. Association officials said they were still waiting to hear from another seven about what, if any, actions they plan to take on dispensaries.

Oregon has 36 counties.

County moratoriums generally don’t apply to cities. Cities can take their own steps to regulate the establishments.

A controversial law, passed in the legislative session this year, gives local governments the ability to impose moratoriums on medical marijuana retailers through May 1, 2015. Those temporary bans must be enacted by May 1. The law also gives local governments the ability to regulate when and where the outlets may operate.

— Noelle Crombie

This entry passed through the Full-Text RSS service — if this is your content and you’re reading it on someone else’s site, please read the FAQ at

Submit your review

Create your own review

Average rating:  
 0 reviews
Bookmark the permalink.