Medical marijuana in Oregon: More than 100 cities and towns impose … – The Oregonian

The number of cities imposing moratoriums on medical marijuana dispensaries continues to rise, according to the latest data from the League of Oregon Cities.

As of last week, 104 cities and towns in Oregon have enacted at least temporary bans. Of those, five communities — Hermiston, Jacksonville and Medford  — have banned the establishments, the league said. Other cities have voted against moratoriums or are still considering imposing limits on the outlets.

A law passed earlier this year gives communities until May 1 to enact moratoriums that can extend through May 2015.

Dispensaries may also face restrictions in other communities that have business license regulations allowing only establishments that comply with federal law; Marijuana is outlawed under federal law.

The League of Oregon Cities and the Association of Oregon Counties pushed for the legislation allowing moratoriums. The league represents 242 incorporated cities.

— Noelle Crombie

This entry passed through the Full-Text RSS service — if this is your content and you’re reading it on someone else’s site, please read the FAQ at

Submit your review

Create your own review

Average rating:  
 0 reviews
Bookmark the permalink.